What is a Vegan Diet?

A vegan will eat no foods of animal origin, including eggs, milk, cheese and yogurt. Their diet consists of grains, seeds, nuts, fruits, vegetables and legumes. Vegans may eat raw or cooked foods, although there are different subsets within this class of diet that may abstain from one or the other, such as natural hygienists.

Many vegetarians eventually become vegans because they realize they can eat a nutritious, varied diet without consuming eggs or milk. Also, many who have lactose intolerance and cannot digest dairy products must choose this type of diet.

Veganism is the most respected diet among vegetarians because it totally eliminates exploitation of animals, and people who become vegetarians for ethical reasons are often pure vegans.